14 thoughts on “Guardian Chapter 52 – Acceptance

  1. Thank you for this sweet, sweet chapter ❤ It's good that they resolved their issues, though Liang Zhou might have to resort to chanting prayers more often in the future in order not to molest his underage beloved 😉

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Well, it’s good to have a small oasis of dog food before entering the desert of dog blood with the family drama hinted at with Liang Zhou’s history. Drink up while you can, everyone!

    Thanks for your hard work translating!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Melon seeds are an actual thing? I am a bit confused by why you mentioned melon seeds as sunflower seeds. No hate just general confusion if melon seeds aren’t sold in your area.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Re-read chapter 41

      Guardian Chapter 41 – Confessions After The Parent-Teacher Conference


      There is a mention about melon seed there, but in reality it is actually sunflower seeds. I mention it because they are the same, melon seed is actually a sunflower seeds and melon pancake are actually either pumpkin/squash pancake so the name are melon but in reality they are different things.
      I know you can actually eat melon seed but in my place there is only sunflower seed so honestly I have no idea how melon seed taste like, plus if you read/watch foreigner experience while traveling to China,
      https://etramping.com/a-mini-guide-to-ktv-in-china/ <– like this one
      they never mention it as melon seed but as sunflower seed so I dunno. But in my experience so far translating Mandarin language, there is many things that if you just translate it literally, it might ended up not the real things. Such as this melon seed, Or stuff like bird names, plant names, or even clothing so well, take my translation with a grain of salt.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are actually many kinds of seeds that be eaten as snacks. Maybe melon-eating masses are commonly depicted as eating sunflower seeds, but they also do munch on actual melon/watermelon/pumpkin/squash seeds.

        As for the 瓜饼, melon pancake, 瓜 can also be translated to ‘gourd’. I checked out a recipe and they seem to use zucchini, which is a gourd. 😆

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Oh I forget about the zucchini. Honestly translating from Mandarin to English when you aren’t even a native speaker is really tricky. I means in my country zucchini are not named zucchini and believe it or not they shaped like cucumber and does not looks like gourd at all [and they are even called ‘cucumber-something’] so to be safe I just use pumpkin. The 瓜 part are honestly troubling me a lot when I translate it. Apparently in Mandarin anything ’round’ is just counted as 瓜 so pumpkin/gourd/anything-melon-like are 瓜.
        Anyway, I add zucchini and crediting your name there~~~
        Also, in my country sunflower seeds and pumpkin seed are sold differently. And so far whenever I saw ‘melon seed’ in novels/manhua they looks like sunflower seeds and not pumpkin seeds that I have eat so I don’t dare to says they are pumpkin seeds.
        I means, I don’t know, as I said, takes my translation with a grain of salt.
        Oh and thank you for your comment.

        Here is link to melon seed in manhua that I said
        http://www.webcomicsapp.com/reader.html?mangaId=5c18c56fd5626e102e63043f&index=18
        ^As you can see it is sunflower seeds

        Also, here is link to video with the title ‘melon seeds’ but it is clearly sunflower seeds
        https:// http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWMIPukvdsQ

        Liked by 1 person

  4. So true!

    I’m not a native speaker, and it really is hard to translate some Chinese terminology/slang into English due to the context, it might get misinterpreted. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

  5. the melon seed they mentioned may literally mean melon’s seed, like pumpkin seed, watermelon’s seed or squash’s seed.

    in chinese new year, we usually serve pumpkin seed to guests.
    pumpkin seed usually had white shells, watermelon has black shells and tougher to crack.

    you really need time and effort to crack the shells before eating them. when they say melon seed eater, the meaning is you really have to much free time

    Like

    1. Can you give me the picture? And link explaining it on English if possible so I can put it on the notes, I will credit you obviously

      Like

Leave a comment