13 thoughts on “Guardian Chapter 51 – A Sudden Confession

  1. Thank you very much for the translation ❤ I agree with your assessment of the novel – I think it balances the struggle and the sweetness perfectly. The absence of (unnecessary) drama does not have to be unrealistic. And I'm happy Shulin has come to terms with his wants and needs. Fortunately, he's not the kind of protagonist who buries his head in the sand for chapters and chapters on end. Now it's time for a heart-to-heart talk between brothers 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. And, as predicted, not biological brothers reveal at the last moment! It would have been so much easier it that had happened much earlier, or at least before romantic confession instead of after of concurrently! Ah, but where would the plot be if so? I give some credit for the time needed to accept and understand at least! More realistic on that end.

    Thanks for your hard work translating!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This was a really nice chapter but it was hard to like it because I kept wondering if Zhou Zhou was doing it on purpose. If he was, it would have ruined it for me because of how manipulative and mean that is. Ditching YS without telling him how long you’re going to be gone or contacting him after saying that you’d be his brother whether or not he accepted is sending mixed signals. Hopefully this wasn’t planned tho 🥲

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing your opinion. I firmly believe that Liang Zhou is doing this because he really want to give Shulin some space and time to think. I means to me this feels like the saying ‘absence makes the heart grow fonder’. At this point Liang Zhou is still a newbie in love so I do not believe he is a black bellied gong.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The pacing was just right. Tbh, if the author kept pushing off the confession, I would drop this story. You know, step-siblings could be considered incest depending on narration and pacing, it’s always been in that edge of the border. It’s not whether they grew up together or not, it’s what they perceive of each other that makes it incest for me. Yeah, MC was still young but if ML really waited and MC grew to sincerely treated him as his biological brother and only family left behind, I would be disturbed for MC’s sake. It just right that ML broke the pot at this moment. Although they are getting along as family already, the impression can still be changed. Obviously, MC isn’t a frog that could slowly be boiled. He will just attribute everything to being family and ML will not be able to use that ‘not blood rated’ years after.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never used an ordinary hangover cure method that normal people mention lmao….
    But my own method works really well, while completely eliminating a hangover without any side effects, and is free as well! My method is:
    When I wake up feeling sick from drinking too much, I simply throw on my exercise outfit and go jogging (although, without listening to music, if I have a headache). After a while, all the toxins are eliminated with my sweat. Probably, if you don’t want to exercise, you can achieve the same effect by using either a sweat lodge or sauna. But the exercise is very refreshing, and it has the double effect of helping to work off a lot of calories that you consume when drinking sugary alcoholic drinks. So I’ve always relied on that method instead of drinking some kind of strange tonic.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ah, sorry to make two comments in one chapter…
    I really like this story a lot. There are quite a few reviews on NU who have vilified it, but I don’t understand their attitude at all. The topic of non-blood related brothers as a CP is very common in BL, so I don’t get the fuss they like to make. While it’s true that the MC is a minor, but the ML is extremely restrained and never does anything to force his brother. On numerous occasions he either told himself or his brother that he’d also be willing to have a platonic brotherhood type of relationship, he just doesn’t want to be treatly coldly/indifferently. He wouldn’t actually cross the line with a minor, and he left the decision of whether or not to accept the confession completely up to his younger brother. So why are people upset with this story? I really don’t get it. Actually, I’ve read many Western BL novels where the relationship is truly shady. Such as, that one where the ML is a married high school teacher who messes around with his student before he gets divorced, and then dumps his young and impressionable bf when his wife becomes pregnant. Then later the teacher divorces his wife and basically treats her as a surrogate, not involving her at all in the child’s life. That’s a truly shady ML! The one is this danmei story is such a good guy in comparison!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment