7 thoughts on “Guardian Chapter 67 – Holidays

  1. The family is accepting them pretty fast! How nice. The Yan family members… I hope they get what they deserve quickly, can’t wait. Muhahahah!
    Thanks for the chapter again ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think Yu Shulin is going to find out just how successful his seduction methods are right after he comes of age! 😉
    Thank you for the chapter ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reading the part about the grandparents who are upset that their grandson is gay… argh, it’s actually more saddening to me because of events that happened in my family recently. If I read this story several years ago, it really wouldn’t have affected me much. But not too long ago, my sister’s child started to transition from a girl to a boy. My parents are extremely conservative, if you had to compare it with characters from novels, their opinions would be similar to the most rigidly conservative Chinese parents or elders. Although they aren’t the type of people to break someone’s leg for coming out, they will exclude/excommunicate a family member due to their sexual orientation (stop contacting, avoid interacting with, say cruel things behind the other’s back, etc). Because they are devoutly religious, they also have an additional attitude that gay or trans family members are corrupted sinners who are very disgusting (I’m not exaggerating). Even though I know my parents are narrow minded and say many hurtful things, I still feel complicated because I know they feel like failures as parents and grandparents. Because (in their minds) their grandchild “chose the wrong lifestyle” and nearly all of their children and grandchildren aren’t going to church anymore. I guess I can feel more empathy for those kinds of characters who struggle to come to terms with family members who are gay. Actually, I’m always surprised that elders usually eventually agree to give their blessings in BL novels. Because my parents have such an extremely closed mindset that it’s completely impossible for them to ever approve of their relatives being gay, queer, or anything other than ramrod straight. I hate seeing them upset because of my trans nephew, or a cousin who recently came out as lesbian and eloped to marry a woman. No matter how much I try to discuss the issues in a logical way, they remain stuck in their old-fashioned viewpoint. So I mostly try to avoid that kind of discussion, since I’ll inevitably get really frustrated and angry when they say homophobic or transphobic things.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment